Linking Accounts

Overview: 

Account linkage allows for individual account holders maintaining multiple existing accounts or seeking to open a new account the ability to group those accounts together.  In the case of a new account, linkage afffords the opportunity to open the account without having to complete a full application, with the account holder providing solely that additional information which is specific to the new account.  New account linkages are initiated either from the Account Management/Client Portal of the existing account (via the Settings > Account Settings > Create, Move, Link or Partition an Account menu options) or automatically when initiating a new application from the website. The following article outlines the steps for linking one or more existing accounts.

1) Login to Account Management/Client Portal and select the Settings and Account Settings menu options. 

 

2) On the Account Settings screen, you will see a section titled "Configuration". Click the Configure (gear) icon next to the words "Create, Move, Link or Partition an Account".

 

3) The Create, Move, Link or Partition an Account screen will list the various linkage options offered for your particular account. In order to link the account to one or more existing accounts, check the box to "Link All of My Existing Accounts Under a Single Username and Password" and click CONTINUE.

 

4) The Select Username screen will open and will list the accounts eligible for consolidation. Please note that there is no ability to consolidate a subset of the accounts. If a decision is made to consolidate, it must include all. In addition, while an account holder may place the consolidation request at any time, the actual consolidation takes place as of the close of business each Friday. 

5) Select which username you want to keep from the drop down menu. The screen will update to display the security device for the selected username. Once your accounts are linked, you will use the selected username and security device to login to any of the linked accounts. When finished, click CONTINUE.

6) You will be prompted to enter the username and password for each account to be linked, followed by additional authentication using your Secure Login device. Enter the username, password and authentication values for each account to be linked on the next screens, clicking CONTINUE to advance to the next screen.

7) We aggregate the financial information and trading experience information for all accounts to be linked. Verify your financial information and trading experience for the accounts to be linked, and then click CONTINUE.

8) Verify your account information and click CONTINUE. If you need to update your financial information, trading experience or account information, wait for those updates to be approved and then restart this linking procedure.

9) Verify any saved bank information you may have and click CONTINUE. Follow the remaining prompts on screen.

For information on how to cancel a linkage request, see Canceling a Pending Link Request.

IMPORTANT NOTES

* Once linked, account access to Account Management/Client Portal and the trading platform is accomplished using a single user name and password each of which will contain a drop-down window for selecting the account that the owner wishes to act upon.

* Linked accounts use the consolidated monthy commissions to calculate the Monthly Minimum Activity fee. Total commissions between the linked accounts must be at least (number of accounts) x USD 10 in order to avoid a fee. If the monthly consolidated commissions are less than this amount, an activity fee is charged on an account-by-account basis using the Standard Activity Fee calculcation. 

* As market data subscriptions are billed at a session level (i.e., user name) and only a single TWS session can be open for any one user at a given time, account holders previously maintaining subscriptions for multiple users have the opportunity to consolidate subscriptions to a single user.  Account holders wishing to view multiple TWS sessions simultaneously may add additional users (subject to separate market data subscribtions). In addition, only those market data subscriptions already associated with the surviving user name will remain in effect following consolidation.  Account holders maintaining different subscriptions across multiple users are advised to review those subscriptions subject to cancellation in order to determine which they wish to resubscribe to under the surviving user name.  Also note that the market data subscriptions either terminated or initiated mid-month are subject to billing as if they were provided for the entire month (i.e., fees are not prorated).